17th edition of the Award to distinguished young scientists

17th edition of the Award to distinguished young scientists

The European Community on Computational Methods in Applied Sciences (ECCOMAS) is pleased to
announce the 17th edition of the Award to distinguished young scientists, who have recently completed
a PhD thesis, in the field of Computational Methods in Applied Sciences and Engineering.

The prize

The prize contains an Award document, a sum of 2.000 Euros plus the cost of participation in the Award


Every person who has presented a PhD thesis, within the ECCOMAS fields of interest, at a
university or a research organization in Europe, which was approved in 2022, qualifies for the Award and
can submit an application.

An Open Call is launched for candidates that are wishing to submit their applications. The application
must be sent to the President of the local/regional ECCOMAS Association to which the applicant is
associated with (a list of addresses is given on the ECCOMAS website www.eccomas.org). The closing
date of this first phase (submission from candidates) is February 1st, 2023. Applicants must include a
copy of the PhD thesis and a Curriculum Vitae. A summary of two to three pages in English is required
for PhD theses written in other languages than English.


First Selection: Each national/regional ECCOMAS Association will select one candidate PhD thesis,
according to an internally decided selection procedure. The local/regional ECCOMAS Associations will
send the selected PhD thesis, the CV of the author, together with a selection support letter (one page),
printed on paper or electronically, to the ECCOMAS Secretariat in Barcelona. The documentation must
arrive at the Barcelona secretariat not later than March 13, 2023 (this deadline is sharp, documentation
received later will not enter in the selection procedure). All the candidates selected as finalists of each
Association will receive a Diploma issued by ECCOMAS and will be invited to participate in the ECCOMAS
PhD Olympiad.

Award Selection: The ECCOMAS PhD Award Committee will select two awardees and communicate the
decision by April 28, 2023.

Award Presentation: The Awards will be bestowed at 7th ECCOMAS Young Investigators Conference
(YIC 2023) to be held in Porto, Portugal, on 19‐21 June 2023.

Share on: